Momentum Steering Committee

LPSN Logo 2

The following detail currently appears on Momentum’s website:

  • There are fourteen positions on Momentum’s Steering Committee, currently filled by twelve members, including three officer roles – Chair, Vice-Chair and Treasurer. At least half of the Steering Committee’s positions must be filled by women.
  • Eight members of Momentum’s Steering committee were elected by the National Committee using Single Transferable Vote

  • Campaign for Socialism and Welsh Labour Grassroots – the sister organisations of Momentum in Scotland and Wales – each have one reserved space on the Steering Committee

  • Four spaces on the Steering Committee are reserved for trade unions – currently the Fire Brigades Union and the Transport Salaried Staff Association fill one each.
  • The Steering Committee is responsible for making operational decisions on Momentum’s activity and priorities in between National Committee meetings

Members of Momentum in Wales and Scotland are automatically members of its sister organisations, Welsh Labour Grassroots and Campaign for Socialismrespectively.

Chair – Jon Lansman
Vice Chair- Cecile Wright
Treasurer – Michael Chessum

Matt Wrack – General Secretary of the Fire Brigade’s Union
Sam Tarry – Political Officer – Transport Salaried Staffs’ Association
Jill Mountford
Sam Wheeler
Darren Williams/ Sophie Williams (Job share) – Welsh Labour Grassroots
Jackie Walker
Marshajane Thompson
Martyn Cook – Campaign for Socialism
Christine Shawcroft

Of these Michael Chessum, Marshajane Thompson and Sam Wheeler are no longer members of the National Committee. Michael and Marshajane sought re-election but were unsuccessful. Sam Wheeler did not seek re-election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *